Getting to Know Literacy and Numeracy and 5 Types of Literacy


Literacy and numeracy become one of the important components in the implementation of minimum competency assessment as a standard for student graduation.

With the implementation of this literacy and numeracy, making standards assessment which if originally referred to each type of subject and mastery of the material, now it is more directed to the understanding of literacy and numeracy itself.

Therefore, as a reference standard for implementing the competency exam for each student, it is very important to understand and know firsthand about literacy and numeracy.

Understanding literacy and numeracy itself means general and very basic competencies that are directly related to ability thinking skills about language and mathematics needed in various contexts, both personal and social.

Understanding literacy and numeracy does not only mean having and understanding the ability to read, but also having the ability to analyze each reading, and then understand the concepts behind the writing. Likewise, numeracy competence means the ability to analyze using numbers.

It is this literacy and numeracy that simplifies the minimum competency assessment, which has been started and implemented since 2021, so that the assessment is no longer based on subject matter and mastery of learning materials.

This literacy and numeracy will also be the minimum competency standards or basic competencies needed by students to be able to learn.

The implementation of the assessment will be carried out by students who are in the middle of the school level, for example grades 4, 8, 11 at each level of education, so that they can encourage educators to improve the quality of their learning.

Assessments carried out in the middle of each level of education, the results are used by schools to identify the learning needs of students.

Principles of Application of Literacy and Numeration

The basic principles in the application of literacy and numeracy for students are applied as follows:

  1. It is contextual in nature and adapted to the geographical and socio-cultural conditions of the region.
  2. In line with the scope of mathematics in the 2013 Curriculum.
  3. Mutual enrichment of other literacy elements.

Types of Literacy

In general, there are five types of literacy consisting of media literacy, basic literacy, visual literacy, library literacy and technological literacy which in principle have a relationship with one another, as follows:

  1. Media Literacy

Media literacy is a person’s ability to understand various forms of media. In addition to understanding the form of media, media literacy also makes people able to absorb the information conveyed by the media well, being able to sort out what is good and what is bad.

  1. Basic Literacy

Basic literacy is the basic ability to read, write, listen, and also count. Well, the purpose of basic literacy is to optimize a person’s ability to read, write, count, and also communicate with others.

  1. Technology Literacy

Technological literacy is the ability to know and understand things related to technology, such as software and hardware. In addition, they can understand how to use the internet properly and correctly and ethics in the use of technology.

  1. Library Literacy

Library literacy is the ability to understand and distinguish written works in the form of fiction and non-fiction. Then understand how to use catalogs and indexes, as well as the ability to understand information when making writings and scientific works.

  1. Visual Literacy

Visual literacy is a deeper understanding of interpreting and capturing the meaning of information in the form of visuals or images. Visual literacy exists, because the thought arises that an image can be read. That is, it can be communicated from the reading process.


Source link